Board of Governors Action Items May 8 & 9, 2017

Approved the results of the February 2017 bar exam and recommended 22 people for admission; recommended the admission of five reciprocity applicants and three applicants by UBE score transfer.

Approved the three new requests for special testing accommodations for the July 2017 bar exam.

Approved Bar Rule 43 waivers (ALSC) for Candice Priest, Colleen Pawling, David Penepinto, and Ted Vosk.

Asked the controller to get more information on the DOL Fiduciary Rule regarding the Bar's 401(k) plan, and bring this back to the Board.

Set up a subcommittee to establish a policy for how future judicial polls will be handled; Stone, Gordon and Sebold will serve on the subcommittee.

Approved four qualified legal service providers for Emeritus Attorney volunteer service under Bar Rule 43.2: ALSC, ANDVSA, Alaska Immigration Justice Project and the Alaska Civil Liberties Union.

Adopted the ethics opinion "In the Workers' Compensation Setting, May a Lawyer for the Employer Present a Lump-Sum Settlement Offer, Inclusive of Legal Fees?"

Appointed Helen Poitra-Chalmers as the ABA Young Delegate for a two year term, and as the alternate YL delegate for David Wilkinson for the ABA annual meeting in August.

Appointed Mari Carpeneti as the New Lawyer Liaison for one year, to fill the rest of Morgan Griffin's term.

Asked the Executive Director to keep in touch with the Utah Bar regarding the progress of their online Lawyer Referral Service program.

Set up a subcommittee to look at other Bars doing law student scholarships and how it's done; subcommittee is Gardner, Stone and Barr.

Approved the Board meeting minutes from January and March.

Board of Governors Action Items May 8 & 9, 2017 Page 2

Approved the appointments to the ALSC Board of Directors: 1st District regular Myra Munson & alternate Joseph Nelson; 3rd District – Kenai/Kodiak regular Karen Lambert & alternate Elizabeth Leduc; 4th District regular Liz Pederson & alternate Dan Winkelman; Board representatives regular Gabrielle LeDoux & alternate Carolyn Heyman-Layne.

Approved the appointment of Lynn Allingham as ABA Delegate.

Recommended the following slate of officers: Brent Bennett, president-elect; Hanna Sebold, vice president; Molly Brown, secretary; Bill Granger, treasurer.

 $G: \texttt{\ADMIN} \texttt{\EXDIR} \texttt{\BOG} \texttt{\MEETINGS} \texttt{\ACTION} \texttt{\17-5.docx}$