Commission on Judicial Conduct


Voting Deadline: March 18, 2019


Lael Harrison

Jane Mores

Nominations for:

  • Board of Governors
  • ALSC Board of Directors

Deadline: March 15, 2019


Nominating Petition

At the request of Governor Dunleavy, the Board of Governors of the Alaska Bar Association is resoliciting nominations for a seat on the Commission on Judicial Conduct in the 1st Judicial District. Lael Harrison was nominated by the board to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Amy Gurton Mead when she was appointed to the bench.  Governor Dunleavy requested consideration of more than a single nomination.


The term ends in March 2020.  Polling will be held only in the Judicial District in which the vacancy occurs.


In addition, the Board may conduct a further review of the nominees that it deems appropriate. The Board will submit names to the Governor and from those attorney nominees the Governor shall make the appointment to the Commission, subject to legislative confirmation.


Any member of the Alaska Bar from the 1st Judicial District who has practiced law in this State for 10 years is eligible for appointment to the Commission. 


Please note:  Anyone appointed to the Commission must file a Conflict of Interest Statement with the Alaska Public Offices Commission (see AS 39.50). 

If you object to the filing of a financial disclosure report, or if it is unclear whether your firm or professional corporation would allow you to file a list of your clients, then you should first determine whether you can comply with the provisions of the Conflict of Interest Law before submitting your name as a candidate for nomination by the Board to the Commission on Judicial Conduct. 

Nominations are now being accepted for the Alaska Bar Association Board of Governors and the Alaska Legal Services Corporation (ALSC) Board of Directors.


Board of Governors and ALSC Board of Directors are three year terms.  The following member terms expire.


President-elect Rob Stone has indicated he will run for re-election in the 3rd Judicial District and Hanna Sebold will run for re-election in the At-Large seat. 


Board of Governors


3rd  District

Sharon Barr

Rob Stone



Hanna Sebold






ALSC Board of Directors


1st  District

regular:  Joseph Nelson

alternate:  Janice Levy


3rd District

regular: Gregory Razo

alternate: Melanie Osborne


4th District

regular:  Nicholas Gasca

alternate:  Natasha Singh