## 19 law students to receive scholarships

In the 1980s, the Alaska Bar Association offered a scholarship program for Alaskans who were first- and secondyear law students and intended to return to Alaska after law school graduation. Alaska has no law schools, so the cost of a legal education for Alaskans is even more expensive because of travel, housing and out-of-state tuition costs. Law students today face a much larger financial burden than most seasoned practitioners did when they were in law school 30 years ago. Unfortunately, the Bar's scholarship program was discontinued long ago. In 2018, however, the Board of Governors voted to implement a new scholarship program.

The scholarship program works as follows: The Bar Association created a special fund managed by the Alaska Bar Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization. Donations to the fund are therefore tax-deductible. Interested first- and second-year law students are required to submit an application and a one-page essay about why they want to come back to Alaska and practice law here. The Bar's Scholarship Committee may request proof of residency and law school enrollment to verify applicant eligibility requirements.

The Scholarship Committee met April 22 to review applications and announce the scholarship recipients. The Bar received a total of \$6,555 in generous donations. All funds received before April 22 were applied to this year's scholarship program. Nineteen scholarships were awarded in the amount of \$345.

## 2021 Scholarship donors:

AK Assoc. of Criminal Defense Lawyers Mark Andrews Danielle Bailey Brooke Berens

Chrystal Brand

Morgan Christen

Susan Cox

Zachary Davies

Dorsey & Whitney LLP

Walter Featherly

Federal Bar Association

Darrel Gardner

Sharon Gleason

Andrea Hattan Joy Hobart

Stefan Hoffer

Russel H. Holland

Donald McClintock

Lloyd Miller

Paul Morin

Paver Family Foundation

Jeffrey Robinson

Trina Sears

Mckenzie Smith

Moira Smith

Stoel Rives LLP

Robert Stone

Tom Wagner Morgan White

The Bar would like to thank

all of the donors.

## 2021 Scholarship recipients:



**Brianna Bennett** 



McKinley Brock



**Jeremy Conkling** 



**Cynthia Cook** 



**Aaron Druyvestein** 



Arina Filippenko



**Z**ander Hoke



**Caroline Humphreys** 



**Emily Kingsley** 



Erin LaMere



**Bobbie McNeley** 



Kieran O'Neil



Katherine Pace



Chelsea Phelps



**Chanel Simon** 



Jenna Sutton



Kathe Tallmadge



**Emily Walker** 



Kirsten Williams

The Bar is now accepting donations for the next round of scholarships. Any contribution will be greatly appreciated, and you or your organization will receive public recognition at the Alaska Bar Convention as well as acknowledgment in the Bar Rag. This is a great opportunity to help struggling Alaska law students make the most of their legal education. These students will return to Alaska to become our next generation of lawyers and judges.

Please send your tax-deductible check, payable to the Alaska Bar Scholarship Fund, to the Bar office, or log on to the Bar's website at www.alaskabar.org and pay online. Please contact Bar staff if you have any questions. Thank you for your consideration and support.