

Geoffrey Bacon



Erin Curran-Tileston



Kevin Gullufsen



Kayla Haeg



Noah Hammett



William Harren



Matison Johnson



Annika Krafcik



Emily Kingsley



Blaine Rizzo



Chanel Simon



Matthew Stone



Jina Yee



Ian Zwink

NOT PICTURED

Garrett Bruner

15 students awarded Bar Association scholarships

In the 1980s, the Alaska Bar Association offered a scholarship program for Alaskans who were firstand second-year law students and intended to return to Alaska after law school graduation. Alaska has no law schools, so the cost of a legal education for Alaskans is even more expensive because of travel, housing and out-of-state tuition costs. Law students today face a much larger financial burden than most seasoned practitioners did when they were in law school 30 years ago. Unfortunately, the Bar's scholarship program was discontinued long ago. In 2018, however, the Board of Governors voted to implement a new scholarship program.

The scholarship program works as follows: The Bar Association created a special fund managed by the Alaska Bar Foundation, a 501(c) (3) organization. Donations to the fund are therefore tax-deductible. Interested first- and second-year law students are required to submit an application and a one-page essay about why they want to come back to Alaska and practice law here. The Bar's Scholarship Committee may request proof of residency and law school enrollment to verify applicant eligibility requirements.

The Scholarship Committee met April 11 to review applications and

announce the scholarship recipients. The Bar received a total of \$14,000 in generous donations. All funds received before April 11 were applied to this year's scholarship program. After reviewing all applicants' ties to Alaska, their intent to return to Alaska, and their reason for applying for the scholarship, the Scholarship Committee decided to award the following scholarships:

- \$2,500 Scholarship awarded
 - o Geoffrey Bacon
 - Chanel Simon
- \$1,500 Scholarship awarded
 - o Erin Curran-Tileston
 - o Kevin Gullufsen
- \$800 Scholarship awarded to:
 - o Kayla Haeg
 - Noah Hammett
 - Matison Johnson
 - **Emily Kingsley** Blaine Rizzo
 - Matthew Stone
 - Ian Zwink
- \$100 Scholarship awarded to:
- Garrett Bruner
- William Harren Annika Krafcik
- o Jina Yee

The bar would like to thank all of the 2022 scholarship donors:

- \$1,000 and over
 - o Bering Straits Native Corporation
 - o Jermain Dunnagan & Owens, PC
- o Blake Quackenbush o Groh Memorial Fund
- \$300-\$999
- o Alaska Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- o Dorsey & Whitney, LLP Clifford Groh
- o Kelley Leonard
- Tetlow Christie LLC
- o Stoel Rives LLP
- James Torgerson and Morgan Christen

law students make the most of their

legal education. These students will

- \$1-\$299
- Mark Andrews

- o Karen Bendler
- o Bonnie "Betsy" Bull
- o Patrick Callahan
- o Bradly Carlson o Matthew Claman
- o Susan Cox
- o Walter Featherly
- Darrel Gardner
- Sharon Gleason James Gottstein
- Peter Massen
- Paul Morin
- Deborah O'Regan
- Melanie Baca Osborne
- Trina Sears
- Susan Urig
- Tom Wagner
- Morgan White
- Denise Wike

The Bar is now accepting donations for the next round of scholarships. Any contribution will be greatly appreciated, and you or your organization will receive public recognition at the Alaska Bar Convention as well as acknowledgment in the Bar Rag. This is a great opportunity to help struggling Alaska

return to Alaska to become our next generation of lawyers and judges.

Please send your tax-deductible check, payable to the Alaska Bar Scholarship Fund, to the Bar office, or log on to the Bar's website at www.alaskabar.org and pay online. Please contact Bar staff if you have any question. Thank you for your consideration and support.